AMA Member Spotlight: Tyler Thomas

tyler
Tyler Thomas, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

I am currently the Social Media & Content Manager for the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

I grew up in a military family and spent most of my life in different parts of the world. I attended the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for undergrad earning a Bachelor of Journalism. I am currently back at UNL pursuing a master’s degree in Higher Education Administration.

How long have you been an AMA member?
I’ve been an AMA member for three years and for two of the years served on the board managing communication for the chapter.

How has AMA helped you be more successful in your professional endeavors?
AMA has helped me become more successful through all of the connections and experiences I have been involved in. From planning and executing events to listening to speakers at signature programs and board meetings. Just being around the marketers of Lincoln, you have a chance to absorb a lot of information.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I’m an avid eater and self-proclaimed foodie. When I’m not at work or dealing with school, I like to try different restaurants and breweries. I manage a food blog (NebraskaFoodie.com) and recently published a book on Nebraska’s Beer history.

What is something people would be surprised to know about you?
I published my first book at 27.

What is your best career advice for your fellow marketers?
Hang out with other marketers. Get to know people not like you in industries unlike your own. You will be surprised how much you can learn from just listening and asking questions.

Do you have any favorite marketing blogs, books or podcasts?
I read a lot online. I follow industry related hash tags on Twitter and connect with other industry folks. Learning from others in the industry and reading what they share has been very helpful. It’s helped me find my voice, learn more about an evolving industry and it’s given me a position to a thought leader.

What are your favorite local businesses?
I don’t have a favorite. I know that sounds cliche, but really it depends on my mood and who I am with. Lincoln has so many great local places that I am really happy in all of them.

Leave a Reply

