AMA Member Spotlight: Laurie Fraser

laurie
Laurie Fraser, Doorstep Diner Catering

I am the owner of Doorstep Diner Catering.

I grew up in between San Francisco and Chicago…sent to Chicago for a 2 year job, my family ended up spending 14 years there. We spend most of our time out west with family so if you ask me what highways run through Chicago or how to get to Joliet I’m at a complete loss. Ask me how to navigate San Francisco or the East Bay and I’ve got you covered!

I moved to Nebraska to attend the University where I studied Marketing. While in undergrad I picked up 4 teaching endorsements at the suggestion of my counselor who felt teaching was a great career for women! My masters focuses on special education in the area of learning disabilities. I avoided student loans and put myself through school by managing a upscale women’s store working solely on commission…hence starting my career in marketing and sales!

How long have you been an AMA member?
I’ve been in AMA for over 10 years and have served as the VP Cause Camp Co-Chair, Membership Co-Chair and Sponsorship Co-Chair. I’ve loved each role because it allows me to interact with incredible people while stretching my skill base.

How has AMA helped you be more successful in your professional endeavors?            
As an entrepreneur I wear many hats. Marketer, sales, HR, bookkeeper…you name it…you can even find me in our kitchen washing dishes from time to time! AMA keeps me up to date with current trends and provides me the education I need to stay on top of social media, content marketing, SEO and digital marketing.

What have you enjoyed most/found to be the most beneficial aspects about being an AMA member?
I feel connected to a larger community through AMA. Marketers “get” each other and it’s always a treat to be able to geek out on marketing topics with others who enjoy talking ROI and strategy.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
In my spare time I like to fill it with travel and music. I play in a two piece acoustic band named Black Eyed Susan. We rock the coffee shop circuit with folk, country, originals and covers. I also enjoy travel and volunteer teaching English to business executives in Spain in the summers. I also rent out my house on Airbnb and have hosted people from all over the world. Last month I had two young ladies from Singapore, this month I am hosting a nursing student from South Korea.

What is something people would be surprised to know about you?
hmmmm that I don’t have a tattoo? Just kidding. I actually have two high school diplomas from two different schools in two different states. Given that I should be twice as smart but unfortunately it doesn’t work that way.

What is your best career advice for your fellow marketers?
Read, network, attend AMA events, and stay on top of this ever changing field, and when you don’t know the answer, reach out to an AMA’er and ask- you’ll get a coffee date and answers to all your questions!

Do you have any favorite marketing blogs, books or podcasts?
Hubspot is my go-to. Other than that I’m not loyal and usually just surf until I find what I need. Oh wait…Seth Godin…yeah, he’s amazing.

What are your favorite local businesses?
Mo Mo’s for a nice evening, Grateful Bread for amazing soup and atmosphere, Yia Yia’s for beer and people watching…and coffee shops.. I live in coffee shops. Want to meet me for coffee? Give me your addy and I’ll know the nearest coffee shop.

Leave a Reply

